NaNoWriMo: Day 1

With the task ahead I honestly don’t know how much I’ll be able to write outside of the book, but hey, that’s a pretty fair sacrifice. I am writing a short story about robots, and hope to do a heap of reading—and there’s always something to blog about. But yes, time.

But anyway, let’s get into the facts and details:

http://www.nanowrimo.org/en/participants/homemaster

I am currently at 2, 419 words. That’s about 750 over the necessary daily word count. I figure that smashing out the start of a novel is the best idea because 1) it’s the part most firmly in my head, and 2) it gives me space to play with later chapters and events. It seems like a logical way to do things.

In other news I got to look at publishing proposals submitted to Melbourne University Publishing today, which was rather insightful, and I got my hands on a very early draft of a new Germaine Greer book. As in, I held it and read the first page. Hey, at least my mum thinks I’m cool!

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

