I Was Blind, But Now I See

The greatest lesson my father ever taught me was to ignore those who annoy you. This did apply to my brother at the time, but obviously it can be useful for any and everyone (if you so desire). I think that is doubly true when those people are ignorant in their grievances.

Without context, we impose our own prejudiced and arrogant presumptions. Without context, you assume. When you assume, well, you’re an ass.

A second lesson that I’ve kept with me is that if you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all. When it comes to media or political criticism, it’s fine, as long as it’s constructive.

No understanding of context mixed with a habit of saying anything you like turns you into a bigoted, insular asshole, and there’s really no more to it.

Good luck, I’m done.

Leave a Reply

